Australian Embassy
Republic of Korea
Democratic People's Republic of Korea

Covid-19 Information


COVID-19 (Coronavirus) Information

(Updated: 27/05/2020)

[Travel to South Korea]

From 1 June, foreign nationals residing in South Korea on most types of long-term visas will need to apply for a re-entry permit before undertaking any travel out of South Korea. If you leave without a re-entry permit, you'll need to apply for a new long-term visa before you can return. A-1, A-2 , A-3 and F-4 visa holders are exempt from these measures. 

If you have been granted a re-entry permit allowing you to return, you'll also need a medical certificate (in Korean or English) confirming a negative COVID test result or that you have no symptoms of illness. This certificate must be issued within 48hrs prior to boarding your return flight to South Korea. Further information about these measures is available (in English) from the Korean Ministry of Justice

All arrivals in South Korea are required to self-quarantine for 14 days. If you don’t have accommodation, you must stay in government run facilities at your expense. You may also be tested for COVID-19 upon arrival.

Limited exemptions to self-quarantine requirements are available and must be issued prior to entry. Contact the nearest Embassy of South Korea to apply. Violation of notice to self-quarantine can result in sentences of up to one year, fines of 10,000,000KRW or deportation.   

From 13 April 2020, South Korea’s visa on arrival program will no longer be available to Australians. To enter South Korea, you must apply for a visa before you arrive. Contact the nearest South Korean embassy or consulate before you travel. Transit without a visa is still permitted.        

Subscribe to Smartraveller for the latest Republic of Korea travel advice.


[Travel to Australia]

The Australian Prime Minister has announced a travel ban to apply from 9pm Sydney time, Friday 20 March on all non-Australian citizens and non-permanent residents from entering Australia.  All Australians – citizens, permanent residents and immediate family will still be able to return to Australia.  Immediate family members of citizens and residents must apply for a travel exemption. You can apply for an exemption at Department of Home Affairs COVID-19 enquiry form.

All travellers arriving in Australia must undertake a mandatory 14-day quarantine at designated facilities (for example, a hotel), in their port of arrival.

Travel advice and restrictions related to COVID-19 - within Australia

For more information on travel restrictions, visit the website of the Department of Home Affairs.


For more information

Australian Government Department of Health


Useful links from local Korean outlets:


Covid-19 Local State/Territory government's advice on Travel restrictions 


Please find more information about your state or territory's travel restrictions including 14-day mandatory quarantine for overseas travellers returning to Australia.








(updated: 3 August 2020 최근 수정일: 2020년 8월 3일)